Decameron logo
Decameron Band History
Decameron Recordings
Decameron Home Page

Decameron Albums
Now Available On CD

"In a class of their own" - SOUNDS
"The thinking man's Lindisfarne" - NEW MUSICAL EXPRESS

Decameron was the contemporary folk group formed by Johnny Coppin and Dave Bell back in 1969, who then, with the addition of Al Fenn and Geoff March, went professional in August 1971. The band were originally managed by Jasper Carrott and John Starkey, and their first album was "Say Hello To The Band" in 1973 on Vertigo Records. Bass player Dik Cadbury then joined the band and they went on to record 3 more albums, and tour the UK and Europe extensively before breaking up in 1976.

All CD's are available direct from the Johnny Coppin web site

2 CD Anthology- Parabola Road
which includes 3 albums -

Mammoth Special The band's second album from 1974 produced by Dennis Linde (who wrote Elvis Presley's "Burning Love") The songs include the epic "The Empty Space", "The Cheetah", "Late On Lady Day", the single "Breakdown of the Song", the title track, as well as their acapella version of "Rock and Roll Woman" by Buffalo Springfield. John Halsey is on drums and 2 tracks have string arrangements by Robert Kirby

. . plus
Third Light from 1975 which has some of the band's best known songs like "Trapeze", "Journey's End", "The Ungodly" and "Saturday". Third Light has John Halsey on drums and was produced by Tom Allom

. . and
Tomorrows Pantomime the band's album from 1976 this includes"The Deal" and "The Shadows on the Stairs" as well as their classic version of Tim Buckley's "Morning Glory".
Tomorrow's Pantomime has Bob Critchley on drums and was produced by Decameron and Barry Hammond.

---Parabola Road also has extra tracks like "Twinset and Pearls", "Cheltenham Ladies" and 3 singles recorded as their alter ego The Magnificent Mercury Brothers.


Mammoth SpecialThird Light / Tomorrow's Pantomime

Say Hello To The Band and the Best of What's Left
- their 1st album on CD for the very first time! songs like title track, Crows, Innocent Sylvester Prime - produced by Sandy Roberton - plus 9 tracks never before released!




afterwords - cover

The live recording from the April 2001 concerts in the Bacon Theatre, Cheltenham is now available and costs just £12.95 by mail order.
The set has 15 songs - Say Hello To The Band, Rock And Roll Woman, Postcards From Cornwall, With The Tide, The Answer, Road To The Sea, Tomorrow's Pantomime, Journey's End, Trapeze, About Time, That's The Way It Is, New Girl In School, All Will Be Well, War Babies and Morning Glory.


To purchase any of these CD's please go to the Online Store found at
Johnny Coppin's web site

In the online store you will also find CD's by Johnny Coppin and Dik Cadbury plus other publications.

Top of Page | Home